01

After Hurricane

Cuba and the Dominican Republic can be visited and discovered again without any concern.

A brief report by Javier Gonzalez

Almost two months have passed since Hurricane Irma and Hurricane Maria hit Cuba and the Dominican Republic. Life has gone back to normal in the meantime and travelers can experience two beautiful islands inviting them for discoveries.

During my stays in Havanna and surrounding areas, as well as in Santo Domingo and in the region of the peninsula Samaná, I was able to talk to many Cubans and Dominicans. During our conversations I learned how professionally they managed the situation.

Even though Hurricane Irma hit the island of Cuba much stronger than meteorologists were able to predict, residents managed the situation sensationally and ensured follow-up support thanks to their warning and evacuation system – one of the best systems in the world. Of course, tourists can be made to believe many things, but one thing is for sure: when strolling in Havanna’s alleys or when going on an excursion into the inland areas, it becomes obvious very quickly that life is back to normality.

The same is true for the Dominican Republic. During my journey between Santo Domingo, Los Haitises, Las Terrenas and the end of the peninsula Las Galeras I was able to observe that the devastation is cleaned up to the greatest possible extent.

Being a marketer myself, I know that pictures tell more than words. That’s why I took my iPhone, captured my impressions on video and compiled them into messages.

On this note, our Caribbean Tour teams in Havanna and Santo Domingo are looking forward to your inquiries and will gladly advise you when choosing one of the many possibilities to experience a wonderful vacation in the Caribbean.

We use cookies to give you the best possible service. If you continue browsing, you agree to the use of cookies. More details can be found in our privacy policy.

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

01

After Hurricane

Kuba und die Dominikanische Republik können wieder ohne Bedenken bereist und entdeckt werden.

Ein Kurzbericht von Javier Gonzalez

Etwas mehr als ein Monate ist vergangen, seit die beiden Hurrikane Irma und Maria Kuba und die Dominikanischen Republik getroffen haben. Inzwischen hat sich das Leben dort normalisiert, und als Reisender findet man zwei tolle Inseln vor, die zum Entdecken einladen.

Während meines Aufenthaltes in Havanna und Umgebung sowie in Santo Domingo und in der Region der Halbinsel Samaná konnte ich mich mit Kubanern und Dominikanern austauschen. In den Gesprächen habe ich erfahren, wie professionell sie die Lage bewältigt haben.

Obwohl Irma die Insel Kuba stärker getroffen hat, als die Meteorologen vorhersehen konnten, haben die Menschen dank ihrem Warn- und Evakuierungssystem – einem der besten der Welt – die Situation sensationell gemeistert und auch die Nachversorgung sichergestellt. Klar, dem Touristen kann man ja vieles unterjubeln, aber eines ist klar: Beim Stöbern in den Gassen von Havanna oder auf den Ausflügen ins Landesinnere ist zu sehen, dass man zur Normalität zurückgefunden hat.

Dasselbe gilt für die Dominikanische Republik. Auf meiner Reise zwischen Santo Domingo, Los Haitises, Las Terrenas und dem Halbinselende Las Galeras konnte ich beobachten, dass die Verwüstungen weitestgehend weggeräumt sind.

Als Marketer weiss ich, dass Bilder mehr sagen als Worte. Deshalb habe ich mein iPhone gezückt, meine Eindrücke filmisch festgehalten und diese zu Botschaften zusammengeschnitten.

Die Caribbean Tours Teams in Havanna und in Santo Domingo freuen sich somit auf Ihre Anfragen und beraten Sie gerne betreffend der vielen Möglichkeiten, schöne Ferien in unserer Karibik zu erleben.

We use cookies to give you the best possible service. If you continue browsing, you agree to the use of cookies. More details can be found in our privacy policy.

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen